× Warning! This forum is in archival status. New contributions may not work.
Library "Processing" Problem
  • Hi There,

    I have 6 users all with Program Manager privileges but only one user can't access the library. This has happened a few time!

    If I delete the user and create a new one it works fine. I don't think the installation has a problem since all other users can login and access the library fine.

    Is there a way to fix this, maybe correct what went wrong? Could it be something wrong with the user account data? Can I possibly check what triggered the error through logs?

    Thanks
    --Mc
  • 16 Comments sorted by
  • Vote Up0Vote Down hoerichhoerich
    Posts: 627Member, Airtime Moderator
    Have you tried to login with this username from your location?
    Does it also not work from your pc or only at users location?
    Official Airtime Forum Manager
    --------------------------
    Most of the time an issue is located between keyboard and chair.
  • I have tried it from different locations and PC's but that specific user will not work.

    Could it be something that has to do with a database or something else?

    I can provide any log files you may need to help me with this.

    Thanks
  • Vote Up0Vote Down hoerichhoerich
    Posts: 627Member, Airtime Moderator
    whats the username? does it contain any special characters?
    Official Airtime Forum Manager
    --------------------------
    Most of the time an issue is located between keyboard and chair.
  • font-family:"Arial","sans-serif";mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman";
    color:red;mso-ansi-language:EN-ZA;mso-fareast-language:EN-US;mso-bidi-language:
    AR-SA">Hi,

    username: thegrindradio-new


    before that it was just thegrindradio


  • Vote Up0Vote Down Daniel JamesDaniel James
    Posts: 844Member, Sourcefabric Team
    I have tested creating a user with hyphens in the name and that seems to work on Airtime 2.5.0. Try looking for errors at the time of the failed login in /var/log/airtime/zendphp.log and /var/log/apache2/error.log

    Cheers!

    Daniel
  • Hi,

    The user can login fine but can't access the library.

    Looking at the log file (/var/log/airtime/zendphp.log) I can see something that happened round about the time when this problem happened:

    2013-11-28T10:49:42+02:00 INFO (6): [index.php : () : line 71] - array_key_exists() expects parameter 2 to be array, null given
    2013-11-28T10:49:42+02:00 INFO (6): [index.php : () : line 73] - #0 [internal function]: exception_error_handler(2, 'array_key_exist...', '/usr/share/airt...', 1270, Array)
    #1 /usr/share/airtime/application/models/Preference.php(1270): array_key_exists('ColReorder', NULL)


    Attached if snippet of the log file.

    The apache error log file doesn't seem to show anything off.

    Thanks
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Daniel JamesDaniel James
    Posts: 844Member, Sourcefabric Team
    This looks like the same error as http://forum.sourcefabric.org/discussion/comment/25369
    I have filed a bug ticket http://dev.sourcefabric.org/browse/CC-5588 which you can use to track the issue.

    Thanks for the report!

    Daniel

  • Vote Up0Vote Down Daniel JamesDaniel James
    Posts: 844Member, Sourcefabric Team
    Just for the record, which version of Airtime are you running? Have you made any modifications to the code? I cannot find any references to the set-library-datatable.phtml file mentioned in the first error:
    2013-11-28T10:46:16+02:00 INFO (6): [index.php : () : line 71] - script 'usersettings/set-library-datatable.phtml' not found in path (/usr/share/airtime/application/views/scripts/)

  • Hi,

    Still running 2.4.0 and I haven't made any changes. It was a normal airtime easy install.

    I appreciate you looking into this.
  • Hi,
     I am experiencing this exact problem at this time. I looked at the silan log and it says that there are 2 files not processed... I wonder if this has anything to do with it? 

    It just so happens that I am an admin, so this error also prevents me from seeing a User listing, etc... Very strange. Luckily we had another admin account set up, and I am able to log into that account and access everything without any issues.

    Please let me know if any logs or output would be helpful.

    dave
  • Just to add:

    I was running 2.4.0 when the problem started occurring. I was moving files from the library into a show in the Calendar screen. All of a sudden, the Library view changed to 'processing' and persisted, even in the Library menu view. 
    The account I was using was actually an 'admin' account. Luckily, we have another... I logged in as the other admin, and attempted to delete the problem account (as I had read this would work). The program would not let me delete the bad account.

    I then upgraded to 2.5.1 and the problem persists. The one admin account still only displays the 'processing' text on any library screen.

    dave
  • Alas, the problem is solved... It seems is was to do with selection of the show/hide columns... they were all deselected for some reason. When I selected them back, nothing happened until I selected the 'owner' column.

    All's well that ends well!
  • Today I had exactly the same problem with one user account that was not able 'to process' the library.

    The solution with Selecting the column 'Owner' in show/hide columns solved the issue.

    Thanks Dave !
  • This should be reported in the BUGS section?
    No longer using Airtime or Libretime.
  • Hi All,

    The solution also worked for me :-)

    Thank you very much DAVE
    Post edited by Mcebo at 2014-01-13 04:22:12
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Daniel JamesDaniel James
    Posts: 844Member, Sourcefabric Team
    Hi John, the bug was filed as http://dev.sourcefabric.org/browse/CC-5588 and I have updated the ticket with the workaround.

    Cheers!

    Daniel