× Warning! This forum is in archival status. New contributions may not work.
Admin space optimization
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Andrey PodshivalovAndrey Podshivalov
    Posts: 1,526Member, Administrator, Sourcefabric Team
    hi,

    I've found unused free space on the top of administration GUI. I offer to get rid of top blue square and move user name with help & exit to breadcrumbs panel:

    index.php/fa/62/0/
  • 17 Comments sorted by
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Paul BaranowskiPaul Baranowski
    Posts: 389Member, Administrator, Sourcefabric Team
    Good point. Vladimir, what do you think?


    Paul Baranowski
    CTO, Sourcefabric, http://sourcefabric.org

    +1 (416) 832-6436 (Cell)
    Skype: paulbaranowski
    720 Bathurst St. / Suite 203 / Toronto / ON / M5S 2R4 / Canada



    On Tue, Jan 18, 2011 at 1:30 PM, Andrey Podshivalov <
    newscoop-dev@lists.sourcefabric.org> wrote:

    > hi,
    >
    > I've found unused free space on the top of administration GUI:
    >
    > [image: index.php/fa/61/0/]
    >
    > I offer to get rid of top blue square and move user name with help & exit
    > to breadcrumbs panel:
    >
    > [image: index.php/fa/62/0/]
    >
    > <http://forum.sourcefabric.org/index.php?t=getfile&id=62> Attachment:
    > Снимок-1.png <http://forum.sourcefabric.org/index.php?t=getfile&id=62>
    > (Size: 18.52KB)
    >

  • Vote Up0Vote Down Daniel JamesDaniel James
    Posts: 844Member, Sourcefabric Team
    Hi Andrey,

    > I offer to get rid of top blue square and move user name with help &
    > exit to breadcrumbs panel

    That will save some vertical space on a desktop with high resolution (in
    terms of width in pixels), but it might mean that the admin interface
    becomes too wide to use on a laptop or other mobile display.

    In the attached example, I have reduced the width of your screenshot to
    1024 pixels. You can see the article name, on the left, now runs into
    the name of the logged-in user, on the right. There are still many
    laptops in use with 1024 x 768 displays, or netbooks with 1024 x 600.
    The iPad is also 1024 x 768.

    If you want to mandate that the Newscoop admin display must be at least
    1280 pixels wide, then the change you suggest would work. To me, that
    seems like an artificial restriction for software that should be able to
    run on any Internet device.

    Cheers!

    Daniel

  • Vote Up0Vote Down Micz FlorMicz Flor
    Posts: 184Administrator

    i like saving space in the admin interface. that is important,
    especially with the step into smart phones and smaller displays.

    but, for the same reason, i would like a scalable admin interface that
    also works on mobile devices. in my thoughts, requiring minimum 1280
    pixel width for admin panel, is not the right way.

    we had a big problem here when adding the content to newscoop, because
    the IBM thinkpad T60 which is common and great did not support the
    resolution of newscoop. so that meant we need to "zoom out" in the
    browser to see all features. or, as daniel said, the same happens with
    netbooks.

    we will work on mobile admin interfaces soon. this is the logical next
    step - and building a static sized admin interface is creating more work
    in the long term.



    --
    Micz Flor
    Head of Communication, Sourcefabric
    micz.flor@sourcefabric.org

    Sourcefabric
    Prinzessinnenstraße 20
    10969 Berlin, Germany
    DE +49 (0)30 44044999

    Subscribe to our Newsletter:
    www.sourcefabric.org/newsletter/

    www.sourcefabric.org
    www.twitter.com/Sourcefabric

  • Vote Up0Vote Down Andrey PodshivalovAndrey Podshivalov
    Posts: 1,526Member, Administrator, Sourcefabric Team
    hi Daniel,
    unfortunately, newscoop's admin gui is not suitable for 1024 resolution especially for touch screen. I guess it will be implemented later.
    But too many unused spaces are unsuitable for screen with small resolution. Btw, as idea we can implement user menu:
    index.php/fa/64/0/
  • Hi Andrey,

    i think that hierarchically it makes more sense to have this type of information and function (login/logout) over the main navigation then below, but the bigger problem is that on the article edit screen this place is reserved for the "Add new article" function (not implemented yet) like in the example attached.

    Best, Vlada
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Daniel JamesDaniel James
    Posts: 844Member, Sourcefabric Team

    Hi Andrey,

    > unfortunately, newscoop's admin gui is not suitable for 1024 resolution

    At the moment I can get down to 657 pixels wide in Firefox without
    breaking the navigation menu. We really should set a formal minimum
    display size as a 'requirement' of Newscoop, such as:

    Minimum: 1024 x 600
    Recommended: 1280 x 1024

    > as idea we can implement user menu:
    > index.php/fa/64/0/

    I like that, it saves a lot of space :-)

    I can't read Russian, but if the label on the user menu is the full user
    name, then people will be able to see who is currently logged in at a
    glance (which is really important when people have to share a computer).

    Cheers!

    Daniel
  • I agree regarding the width, this is a problem and will be fixed. It can be achieved with mostly on CSS modification. The biggest problem at the moment is Tiny, which is table based and has a fixed width.
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Daniel JamesDaniel James
    Posts: 844Member, Sourcefabric Team

    Hi Vladimir,

    > the bigger problem is that on the article edit screen this
    > place is reserved for the "Add new article" function (not implemented
    > yet)

    I really don't like that idea. If you create too many ways to do the
    same thing, it just creates clutter and confusion. From the main menu,
    Actions -> Add new article is only two clicks. On the Article list it is
    only one click :-)

    Besides, I think the implied workflow is wrong. If you are a writer on
    the Article Edit page, you don't need to start a new article from there.
    You need to submit the article you are working to your editor, or send
    it for translation, before you start another article.

    Cheers!

    Daniel
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Daniel JamesDaniel James
    Posts: 844Member, Sourcefabric Team

    Hi Vladimir,

    > The biggest problem at the
    > moment is Tiny, which is table based and has a fixed width.

    It could fit a narrower display if there was an option to move the boxes
    in the sidebar to below the Comments area.

    Cheers!

    Daniel
  • Np, if you say so Smile I can live without it. One of the reasons it exists is existed before.

  • > It could fit a narrower display if there was an option to
    > move the boxes in the sidebar to below the Comments area.

    Yes, if no other way, that's the option to go for.

    Best, Vlada
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Micz FlorMicz Flor
    Posts: 184Administrator

    we need to have "add new article" on the article edit screen. i need it
    all the time. seriously, it's a "must have" for me.

    the use case:

    a) you set up a section
    b) you add all the articles "empty" (i.e. prepare for the editors)
    c) people start working on these articles

    the workflow:

    a) press: add new article
    b) type in name and select article type then press enter
    c) select "add new article"

    even when setting up the sourcefabric.org website - which is really not
    a publication, but more like a static page - i missed that button all
    the time. all the time.

    so, please, a must have!!!


    On Wed, 2011-01-19 at 13:23 +0100, Daniel James wrote:
    > > the bigger problem is that on the article edit screen this
    > > place is reserved for the "Add new article" function (not
    > implemented
    > > yet)
    >
    > I really don't like that idea. If you create too many ways to do the
    > same thing, it just creates clutter and confusion. From the main menu,
    > Actions -> Add new article is only two clicks. On the Article list it
    > is
    > only one click :-)
    --
    Micz Flor
    Head of Communication, Sourcefabric
    micz.flor@sourcefabric.org

    Sourcefabric
    Prinzessinnenstraße 20
    10969 Berlin, Germany
    DE +49 (0)30 44044999

    Subscribe to our Newsletter:
    www.sourcefabric.org/newsletter/

    www.sourcefabric.org
    www.twitter.com/Sourcefabric

  • Vote Up0Vote Down Andrey PodshivalovAndrey Podshivalov
    Posts: 1,526Member, Administrator, Sourcefabric Team
    It could be possible like this:
    index.php/fa/68/0/
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Daniel JamesDaniel James
    Posts: 844Member, Sourcefabric Team

    Hi Micz,

    > even when setting up the sourcefabric.org website - which is really not
    > a publication, but more like a static page - i missed that button all
    > the time.

    Sounds like what you really need is a keyboard shortcut :-)

    Cheers!

    Daniel
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Sava TatićSava Tatić
    Posts: 113Member, Administrator, Sourcefabric Team
    Keyboard shortcuts would surely be nice. (Save and Close, then new article
    from Article List also does the trick). Maybe the "New article" button
    should find a more logical place (i.e. we could find a place for a shortcut
    for "more of a kind")... Just throwing in ideas.

    On Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 3:34 PM, Daniel James <
    newscoop-dev@lists.sourcefabric.org> wrote:

    >
    > Hi Micz,
    >
    >
    > > even when setting up the sourcefabric.org website - which is really not
    > > a publication, but more like a static page - i missed that button all
    > > the time.
    >
    > Sounds like what you really need is a keyboard shortcut :-)
    >
    > Cheers!
    >
    > Daniel
    >
    >

  • Vote Up0Vote Down Sava TatićSava Tatić
    Posts: 113Member, Administrator, Sourcefabric Team
    Apologies, didn't see Andrey's latest suggestion... Looks quite good ("more
    of this kind" could live there throughout?)

    Sava

    On Thu, Jan 20, 2011 at 4:21 AM, Sava Tatić <sava.tatic@sourcefabric.org>wrote:

    > Keyboard shortcuts would surely be nice. (Save and Close, then new article
    > from Article List also does the trick). Maybe the "New article" button
    > should find a more logical place (i.e. we could find a place for a shortcut
    > for "more of a kind")... Just throwing in ideas.
    >
    > On Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 3:34 PM, Daniel James <
    > newscoop-dev@lists.sourcefabric.org> wrote:
    >
    >>
    >> Hi Micz,
    >>
    >>
    >> > even when setting up the sourcefabric.org website - which is really not
    >> > a publication, but more like a static page - i missed that button all
    >> > the time.
    >>
    >> Sounds like what you really need is a keyboard shortcut :-)
    >>
    >> Cheers!
    >>
    >> Daniel
    >>
    >>
    >
    >
    >


    --
    Sava Tatić
    Managing Director, Sourcefabric o.p.s.
    sava.tatic@sourcefabric.org

    Salvátorská 10
    110 00 Praha 1, Czech Republic
    +420 2 22 36 25 40
    +1 647 889 2811 (Toronto)
    Skype: tictactatic

    Journalism is back!
    http://www.journalismisback.com

    http://www.sourcefabric.org
    http://www.twitter.com/Sourcefabric

  • Hi,

    I stumbled across this discussion and realized finally why my backend is so icky to work with. I wonder whether you guys think about people with poor eyesight? I need to set my screen to a large resolution (or zoom in), currently I work with 1024x768 even on a 22" screen, purely for visual problems. You may really want to consider this. Not everyone can adapt to small script.

    Cheers

    Andel