× Warning! This forum is in archival status. New contributions may not work.
Airtime 2.5.0 Released!
  • Vote Up3Vote Down Albert SantoniAlbert Santoni
    Posts: 68Member, Sourcefabric Team, Airtime Moderator
    Hello everyone,

    I'm very pleased to announce the official release of Airtime 2.5.0! This release culminates several months of development of a new Playout History feature and other improvements. 

    "Airtime 2.5.0, released today, introduces a customisable playout history alongside many bug fixes and stability improvements. Working on new features for The Scope radio station, based at Ryerson University, the Airtime team developed a template-based system for tracking broadcast playout.

    Airtime 2.5.0 enables you to log playout in the exact format you require and export that data in CSV or PDF file formats. This is a great feature for professional radio stations who need an organised (digital) paper trail. Advertisers and stakeholders, the DJ community and listeners will benefit from having easy access to detailed playout history in formats that are easy to share forward."





    For the power users, here's a complete list of the JIRA tickets we've closed in this release:

    Bugs
    • [CC-3146] - The popup select date calendar shows Today by local machine timezone and not Airtime timezone.
    • [CC-3257] - When editing a recorded repeated show, Record & Rebroadcast tab should be expanded
    • [CC-3997] - Now Playing -> Time Line: different behaviour between 'delete' button and 'delete' menu items
    • [CC-4163] - Calendar: Context menu of Recording show does not work
    • [CC-4573] - Files can be dragged into a Record from Line-in show in Now Playing, but other features do not work
    • [CC-5045] - Excessive precision on Master Panel
    • [CC-5258] - Web Audio features sometimes crash if Save button clicked during playback
    • [CC-5277] - Selecting weekly repeat without selecting days fails silently
    • [CC-5293] - Calendar page cannot be loaded sometimes
    • [CC-5294] - The sorted option is not saved
    • [CC-5299] - Back to back record shows doesn't work with some devices
    • [CC-5312] - Liquidsoap helper scripts are incorrectly versioned
    • [CC-5315] - set-template-default.phtml doesn't exist
    • [CC-5316] - Playout History: Doesn't support webstream
    • [CC-5317] - Guest user can't see Now playing page
    • [CC-5318] - Playout History: The last song of the show will display wrong end time.
    • [CC-5320] - UTC not included in Timezone List
    • [CC-5321] - Changing Timezone after Creating shows creates Problems
    • [CC-5323] - User's Timezone Can Improperly Edit Show
    • [CC-5326] - Sometimes the Calendar page does not render
    • [CC-5328] - Virtualenv version check fails for latest 1.10 versions
    • [CC-5330] - Calendar's brains get scrambled sometimes
    • [CC-5331] - Now Playing keeps refreshing sometimes
    • [CC-5333] - Rebroadcast Shows are not created
    • [CC-5335] - I18N: Calendar picker strings are not translated.
    • [CC-5337] - Install script no longer gives user option to overwrite config files and to recreate the database
    • [CC-5338] - Uncaught SyntaxError: audio resources unavailable for AudioContext construction
    • [CC-5342] - Pypo: Webstream disconnection happens when any changes on Now playing page
    • [CC-5344] - Edit Recorded Show -> Rebroadcasts get deleted
    • [CC-5346] - Need to install php5-json in Saucy for php 5.5
    • [CC-5347] - isScheduled log error for webstreams
    • [CC-5349] - Webstream Scheduling Problem
    • [CC-5353] - Behavior of linking Record&Rebroadcast show
    • [CC-5354] - PHP 5.5: short_open_tags not enabled by default
    • [CC-5355] - Create Saucy repository on apt.sourcefabric.org
    • [CC-5356] - Saucy: Default site should be disabled correctly
    • [CC-5357] - Linked icon missing on record&rebroadcast shows
    • [CC-5359] - Update show fails sometimes with overlapping check
    • [CC-5360] - Updating a Show over a timezone change period has problems
    • [CC-5361] - Create show from repeating instance could have wrong time
    • [CC-5362] - In Calendar Week/Day view, JS for now playing show makes everything a record show
    • [CC-5363] - pushing a file twice, noticeable replaygain switch
    • [CC-5364] - Problem with drag & drop recording show on calendar
    • [CC-5368] - Listener stats not working for SaaS with Shoutcast servers
    • [CC-5370] - Recording show: Drag and drop will cause error
    • [CC-5371] - Fail to extend/shrink show by drag
    • [CC-5372] - Credits update
    • [CC-5376] - Sometimes schedule times don't get updated
    • [CC-5378] - Subseconds are gone from cc_schedule calulations
    • [CC-5379] - adding a file after a gap in now playing - starts too early
    • [CC-5384] - Drag & drop show sets wrong time
    • [CC-5385] - Shows with negative duration time are created with inverted time
    • [CC-5387] - Copy cc_webstream_metadata to playout_history for 2.5 upgrade
    • [CC-5388] - Calendar won't load
    • [CC-5390] - Cannot drag & drop record show that has a rebroadcast
    • [CC-5394] - File Summary Fix
    • [CC-5395] - Saucy: Liquidsoap related packages are missing during installation
    • [CC-5396] - Playout History: Restart airtime-liquidsoap will cause redundant items in history log
    • [CC-5398] - "Add Show" does not update calender "orange" progress bar immediately showing content is added until refresh page or different view.
    • [CC-5401] - Stream settings -> Can't save show source info
    • [CC-5404] - colorpickers littering DOM
    • [CC-5407] - Scheduling problem with global crossfade
    • [CC-5408] - Can't add content to now playing show on calendar page
    • [CC-5420] - Upgrade: sql error
    • [CC-5422] - Unknown command error in queue_push()
    • [CC-5424] - Same webstream playing will switch off ON AIR light
    • [CC-5425] - Edit metadata throws errors
    • [CC-5428] - Ordering by length not working
    • [CC-5429] - importing file > 24 hours doesn't work
    • [CC-5430] - sorting settings not saved on library datatable
    • [CC-5432] - only selected tracks that you see are added to a show
    • [CC-5437] - Version check or virtualenv will block installation in some situation

    Improvements, Features, Tasks

    • Playout History
    • [CC-5410] - Now playing icon should not lag to show up on calendar
    • [CC-3964] - Allow editing of a repeating instance
    • [CC-4523] - Setlist/History export as text
    • [CC-5334] - Localize Ryerson History Feature
    • [CC-5339] - Saucy support
    • [CC-5340] - php 5.5 (included in saucy)
    • [CC-5447] - Packaging changes for Apache version in Saucy
    Post edited by Albert Santoni at 2013-10-23 12:08:48
    Airtime Developer @ Sourcefabric
  • 38 Comments sorted by
  • Vote Up3Vote Down Albert FRAlbert FR
    Posts: 1,978Member, Airtime Moderator
    Great Job @Charles !

    others missed features for me :

    - background playlist !!!
    - automatic jingles insertion !!!
    - record everything (normally in 3.0) !!!
    - construct a playlist from a directory
    - weight of an artist or album in a playlist (for play it more or less during a certain time)

    Post edited by Albert FR at 2013-10-28 14:26:16
  • Vote Up2Vote Down hoerichhoerich
    Posts: 627Member, Airtime Moderator
    sadly, the calender-issue is still present for us.

    From 2.3 on I frequently did
    sudo -u postgres psql airtime -c "delete from cc_show"
    and recreated all shows. a torture but I became used to it ;-)

    the error kept occuring from version to version.

    Should I reinstall postgresql?
    I don't want to reinstall postgresql at all, since I'd lose all our playlists then.
    A way to backup playlists would make me very happy in this case...
    685 x 502 - 75K
    Official Airtime Forum Manager
    --------------------------
    Most of the time an issue is located between keyboard and chair.
  • Vote Up2Vote Down NaomiNaomi
    Posts: 228Member
    The playout history feature was done for Airtime 2.5 since we had a paying client which this was released to earlier this year :)
  • Vote Up1Vote Down Albert FRAlbert FR
    Posts: 1,978Member, Airtime Moderator
    Hi Younes, Hi Daniel

    Daniel I'm agree with you for the default playlists (that's not really perfect, yours shows must be placed between linked playlists, but that's a good solution ...)

    But Younes is good when he's talking about Jingles/ADS/Announce, these feature is needed by a lot of us since a long, long time ago... for a lot of radios, this feature is mandatory (legal obligation)


  • Yes for me too - I was informed by a UK lic. dept. that anyone using the giant server farm in Roubaix, France many (even UK and USA) ISP's use this and that French AND UK regs apply to me as that is the streaming point.
    No longer using Airtime or Libretime.
  • And the auto dj function? I got tired of replacing the liquid soap script... it should have an emergency playlist or some kind of fallback option since silence in a radio is not good.
    With a unmodified liquid soap script i have occasionally a silence insert when doing a live stream.
    My radio dos 99% of the time lifestreams, it would be nice to record the shows and upload them , even better would be upload to other places rather than just sound cloud. 
    Thats just my 2 cents.
  • Vote Up0Vote Down hoerichhoerich
    Posts: 627Member, Airtime Moderator
    awesome bugfixing! thx
    Post edited by hoerich at 2013-10-23 14:20:46
    Official Airtime Forum Manager
    --------------------------
    Most of the time an issue is located between keyboard and chair.
  • Vote Up0Vote Down hoerichhoerich
    Posts: 627Member, Airtime Moderator
    Wow, Playout History is great.
    I got really useful statistics without creating any template.
    Tracks inside scheduled webstreams are recognized too (depends on source)

    Is it possible to have the Show Summary inverted to have latest show on top?

    And there may be an issue with element-order in Show Summary...
    Scheduled Webstreams are always ordered at bottom of show.
    Could this be due to default-order by End Time and Webstreams not having End Time at all?
    (See Screenshot: last element of BBC News is an internal webstream)

    for now - wow :-D
    1288 x 643 - 128K
    Post edited by hoerich at 2013-10-23 16:41:00
    Official Airtime Forum Manager
    --------------------------
    Most of the time an issue is located between keyboard and chair.
  • Vote Up0Vote Down NaomiNaomi
    Posts: 228Member
    The entries aren't actually ordered on start time here right now, everything should fall into chronological order (including webstream entries) when sorting on this table header.

    Glad you like it!

    Unfortunately it's a bit too late for the 2.5 release to invert the order of the show summaries, perhaps we can come up with a code change if you're really interested.
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Albert FRAlbert FR
    Posts: 1,978Member, Airtime Moderator
    hoerich said:

    awesome bugfixing! thx



    awesome ! it's the word !

    good job guys !
  • is apt.sourcefabric.org down?
    I am on a ubuntu vps and i am trying to update and when doing apt-get update it fails at
     [Connecting to apt.sourcefabric.org (5.9.154.18)].
  • Hi Devs & Guys,

    On installing 2.5 on a fresh server - I got the wrong character set error on install again. - Which I fixed by resetting the server cluster.

    BUT, these forums have literally dozens posts and comments on this issue - many unresolved.

    The database ignores the user locale settings and gets the type from somewhere else.

    Suggestion.
    The docs say that when a postgresql database is created - the character set can be specified at this point.
    If this was set to UTF-8 in your airtime installer script, instead of relying on the default which may be wrong, (I believe it does not need a specific country) - you might have happier people and not lose them because they cannot install. :)

    I would appear to be only a one line change in the installer.


    Post edited by John Chewter at 2013-10-25 15:59:04
    No longer using Airtime or Libretime.
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Daniel JamesDaniel James
    Posts: 844Member, Sourcefabric Team

    is apt.sourcefabric.org down?
    I am on a ubuntu vps and i am trying to update and when doing apt-get update it fails at
     [Connecting to apt.sourcefabric.org (5.9.154.18)].



    It's working for me today, please try again.



    Cheers!

    Daniel
    Post edited by Daniel James at 2013-10-26 06:20:40
  • Hi All

    I tried install Airtime-2.5.0 to my server (not a debian based distro) 
    - RabbigMQ server running/admin page and airtime vhosts is ok
    - Monit server server running/admin page available
    - PostgreSQL server running/database is ok
    - Airtime server check state fails

    And get the following error messages:
    cat /var/log/airtime/media-monitor/media-monitor.log



    2013-10-26 13:48:28,299 INFO - [MainThread] [launcher.py : setup_global()] : LINE 110 - Attempting to set the locale...
    2013-10-26 13:48:28,658 INFO - [Thread-1] [watchersyncer.py : __init__()] : LINE 19 - Created timeout thread...
    2013-10-26 13:48:28,668 INFO - [Thread-1] [airtime.py : init_rabbit_mq()] : LINE 36 - Initializing RabbitMQ message consumer...
    2013-10-26 13:48:28,696 DEBUG - [Thread-1] [connection.py : _start()] : LINE 712 - Start from server, version: 0.9, properties: {u'information': u'Licensed under the MPL. See http://www.rabbitmq.com/', u'product': u'RabbitMQ', u'copyright': u'Copyright (C) 2007-2013 GoPivotal, Inc.', u'capabilities': {u'exchange_exchange_bindings': True, u'connection.blocked': True, u'authentication_failure_close': True, u'basic.nack': True, u'consumer_priorities': True, u'consumer_cancel_notify': True, u'publisher_confirms': True}, u'platform': u'Erlang/OTP', u'version': u'3.2.0'}, mechanisms: [u'AMQPLAIN', u'PLAIN'], locales: [u'en_US']
    2013-10-26 13:48:28,698 DEBUG - [Thread-1] [connection.py : _open_ok()] : LINE 599 - Open OK!
    2013-10-26 13:48:28,698 DEBUG - [Thread-1] [channel.py : __init__()] : LINE 67 - using channel_id: 1
    2013-10-26 13:48:28,700 DEBUG - [Thread-1] [channel.py : _open_ok()] : LINE 418 - Channel open
    2013-10-26 13:48:28,702 INFO - [Thread-1] [airtime.py : init_rabbit_mq()] : LINE 48 - Initialized RabbitMQ consumer.
    2013-10-26 13:48:28,703 DEBUG - [Thread-1] [api_client.py : __call__()] : LINE 134 - http://localhost:80/api/media-monitor-setup/format/json/api_key/JKJ9TCHZ66XRXWB34S2M
    2013-10-26 13:48:28,707 INFO - [Thread-1] [syncdb.py : reload_directories()] : LINE 51 - HTTP Error 404: Not Found

    cat /var/log/airtime/media-monitor/py-interpreter.log

    Exception in thread Thread-1:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/lib/airtime/airtime_virtualenv/lib/python2.7/threading.py", line 530, in __bootstrap_inner
    self.run()
    File "/usr/lib/airtime/media-monitor/mm2/media/saas/launcher.py", line 56, in run
    u'stor' : adb.storage_path(),
    File "/usr/lib/airtime/media-monitor/mm2/media/monitor/syncdb.py", line 62, in storage_path
    def storage_path(self) : return self.base_storage
    AttributeError: 'AirtimeDB' object has no attribute 'base_storage'



    Please anyone post any suggestion for me:)
    Thx
    Post edited by Charles at 2013-10-26 09:00:49
  • Vote Up0Vote Down hoerichhoerich
    Posts: 627Member, Airtime Moderator
    Naomi said:


    Unfortunately it's a bit too late for the 2.5 release to invert the order of the show summaries, perhaps we can come up with a code change if you're really interested.


    Not necessary for 2.5, but for future versions.
    Official Airtime Forum Manager
    --------------------------
    Most of the time an issue is located between keyboard and chair.
  • Hi

    The the previous compatibility problems resolved/fixed. The Airtime 2.5 installed and running on blackPanther OS RPM based Linux distro.
    - Rewritten install scripts for blackPanther OS
    - Rewritten init scripts and modify start daemon scripts for redhat based init system
    - Modified python virtualenv because didn't work/many fail with external python modules.

    Known problems under blackPanther:
    - media upload validate fail (temporary disabled this check feature in php files) /liquidsoap response:  'This doesn't look like a Speex file' to any media file/
    - liquidshoap build with last shine fail (disabled shine) /last git liquidsoap won't build with icecast2 plugin/
    - need a simlink /usr/share/airtime/public to /var/www/html/airtime dir (unkown problem, vhost ok, many other site running already on server, but without simlink the airtime logging many error /var/www/usr messages)
    - UTF8 filename encoding problem: example if the filename: "Zenék" encoding to "Zen\u00e9k\"


    Initial Airtime RPM package made in progress :)

    Missed features for me
    - More DJ same time and switching between from different location/country
    - Show Stream source early opening/enabling/accepting connection before live show starting
    - Random playlist generate (like auto DJ)
    - Random playlist generate/fill to empty spaces  
    - Unexpected error response, etc: lost connections under show stream instead any song/signal/music mixing.. like "Always ON"

    Sorry if my english is very bad; old big problem for me:)
    and Many Thanks to You All for Airtime and hard works
    Post edited by Charles at 2013-10-28 14:22:18
  • <contents deleted by poster>
    Post edited by Krypton Radio at 2013-11-13 21:42:58
  • Surely linked shows is a great feature, but I hope you didn't dropped the idea of copy show content feature. In jira I found tickets for background (safe)playlist and construct a playlist from a directory. But none for copy show content. This http://dev.sourcefabric.org/browse/CC-1979 was marked as solved...

    Alex
  • Vote Up0Vote Down NaomiNaomi
    Posts: 228Member
    Hey Krypton radio, what kind of a show are you trying to drag things in when it's playing? A linked show? I haven't noticed this behaviour before. Could you provide your php zendlog? It should be in /var/log/airtime
  • Vote Up0Vote Down hoerichhoerich
    Posts: 627Member, Airtime Moderator

    This http://dev.sourcefabric.org/browse/CC-1979 was marked as solved...



    I also noticed this ticket being closed with 2.5.

    Anyways...
    We use ALSA-Output and we have an issue with 1-2 sec long playout drop-outs every ~2 mins. No matter what's playing.
    As soon as I deactivate Webstream 1 (MP3 192kbps), the drop-outs are gone.

    Normally I don't use Airtime's Webstream-Feature, but our Streaming-Server broke down...
    Now I have to decide. Having FM-Broadcast and Webstream with drop-outs every 2 mins or having only FM-Broadcast with no drop-outs.

    Here are my logs.
    Official Airtime Forum Manager
    --------------------------
    Most of the time an issue is located between keyboard and chair.
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Albert FRAlbert FR
    Posts: 1,978Member, Airtime Moderator
    you can automate this with a scipt shell and a cron ;-)

    anayway : http://forum.sourcefabric.org/discussion/10974/airtime-database-backuprestore-tips
  • Upgraded with the UTF-8 database error but I though this might be because there were also postgres updates as well.  After rerunning apt-get install upgrade, airtime installed properly and all seems fine.  I haven't used it enough yet to see the bugs mentioned above.
  • Would be interesting if airtime could import/export to Zara.  I haven't dug into Zara enough yet to see what needs to be done.  An import/export playlist in Airtime could be scripted to work with other automation and scheduler software.
  • Vote Up0Vote Down hoerichhoerich
    Posts: 627Member, Airtime Moderator

    Albert FR said:

    you can automate this with a scipt shell and a cron ;-)

    anayway : http://forum.sourcefabric.org/discussion/10974/airtime-database-backuprestore-tips



    this does not save playlists, only scheduled shows and a few settings ;-(
    Official Airtime Forum Manager
    --------------------------
    Most of the time an issue is located between keyboard and chair.
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Albert FRAlbert FR
    Posts: 1,978Member, Airtime Moderator
    are you sure ?
    normally the entire database is saved ...
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Andrey PodshivalovAndrey Podshivalov
    Posts: 1,526Member, Administrator, Sourcefabric Team
    Sorry, it's just a test.


    On Thu, Oct 31, 2013 at 1:26 AM, Albert FR <<br />airtime-support@lists.sourcefabric.org> wrote:

    > are you sure ?
    > normally the entire database is saved ...
    >
    >
  • Hello everyone!

    Thank you for this update... However, I must admit that I do not understand the way in which you choose the features that you add to each of the new versions... I use airtime for over 2 years now ... and I do not understand why the default playlist functionality with automatic integration of Jingles is still not implemented in the system... ?

    I'm a member of this forum for enough time to tell you that this feature is a priority for many people... no one can disagree with me on this point... However, this feature is only available by tweaking the system (thank to albert's code) but this tweak doesn't enjoy the benefits of Airtime (gain, fade, tagging, ...)

    Don't get me wrong, I love Airtime and the work you guys are doing... but I really try to understand why this feature is not yet available?

    Thank you for your understanding
    Younes - NessRadio.com
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Daniel JamesDaniel James
    Posts: 844Member, Sourcefabric Team
    Hi Younes, you can get default playlists by using the linked shows feature. We welcome your input into choosing features for the next version! Features that people are willing to contribute time to will usually get the highest priority, after stability fixes.

    Cheers!

    Daniel
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Albert FRAlbert FR
    Posts: 1,978Member, Airtime Moderator
    That's a good thing, and if I can I pay you for jingles integration, but I'm not really fortunate ;-)

    But where I'm ok with Younes, is about this feature, asked since 2 years ago, and always reported to the next version.

    as I said before, for a lot of radios, that's mandatory, and we can be more, and more here, if this feature appear into airtime
  • @Naomi haaaa ok. That makes sense. Thank you for your honest answer.

    @Daniel linked playlist doesn't work the same as a back-up playlist. The system we use for Ness Radio works well but needs to be directly implemented to the system. Albert created this tweak a couple of years ago... I really hope to finally see this feature for the next 3.0 version :)
  • Vote Up0Vote Down NaomiNaomi
    Posts: 228Member
    hey @hoerich can you send your db over if you've recreated your shows and you still have this scheduling problem?
  • Figured it out.  You have to be working from the Calendar blocks.  You can't do it with the Now Playing interface.
  • Also, yes, periodic insertion of jingles according to time is a hard business requirement for all commercial radio stations, as is the ability to schedule episodic content programmatically instead of manually creating the shows every day, as is the ability to generate reports of TLH, listener concurrency, total uniques per time period, listener geodata, client data, & average connection durations.  We can't run our businesses without this information (because we have nothing to tell potential advertisers without these reports).
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Albert FRAlbert FR
    Posts: 1,978Member, Airtime Moderator
    Hi Krypton Radio !

    We are all agree with that, reports are important for all of us, but as you said (and not only for commercial radios stations) insertion of jingles/announces are also mandatory for a lot of us (for example in France, you can't streaming music or a show without announcing the name of your radio twice by hour minimum)
     
  • Vote Up0Vote Down hoerichhoerich
    Posts: 627Member, Airtime Moderator
    Naomi said:

    hey @hoerich can you send your db over if you've recreated your shows and you still have this scheduling problem?



    I hope this will not be the case ;-) but I'll do so
    Official Airtime Forum Manager
    --------------------------
    Most of the time an issue is located between keyboard and chair.
  • For some reason my Listener Stats rectangular box that showed the amount of listeners is now totally blank.  The remaining part of the page looks normal except for the Stats part.  Is there something I can do to get it back.  I rebooted, stopped and started all airtime processes yet nothing.  

  • Post edited by Krypton Radio at 2013-11-13 21:45:34
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Albert SantoniAlbert Santoni
    Posts: 68Member, Sourcefabric Team, Airtime Moderator
    Hi guys,

    Airtime 2.5.1 has now been released, check it out! 

    Thanks,
    Albert
    Airtime Developer @ Sourcefabric