× Warning! This forum is in archival status. New contributions may not work.
Airtime 2.4 beta1!!!
  • Hi All,

    The Airtime team is proud to present beta1 of Airtime 2.4. This is quite a late beta, however if it is much more stable than betas in the past, and we believe it is only a minor jump from here to a final release :)

    Here is the changelog:

    New features:
    • Global cross-fade setting
    • waveform preview (Chrome/Chromium only until firefox adds for HTML5 support)
    • Columns in library table indicating whether a track is scheduled and whether it's in a playlist
    • AAC support (Ubuntu Precise 12.04+ or Debian Squeeze or higher)
    • Opus support (for input files/webstreams and output webstreams - Opus output stream requires Icecast 2.4+. See more here https://wiki.sourcefabric.org/x/KgPQ)
    • Unofficial AAC+ support (Add AAC+ https://wiki.sourcefabric.org/x/NgPQ)
    • Show linking - when multiple shows are linked, content that is scheduled in one show is scheduled in the others as well
    • Monthly repeating shows can now be done by day of the month (every second Monday), instead of simply by numeric value
    • Library view can expand to entire screen

    And of course many, many bugfixes.

    Airtime 2.4 also requires the latest version of Liquidsoap. We have prepared Debian packages of these for all supported platforms.

    Installation instructions:
    1) Find the appropriate Liquidsoap .deb for your OS here: http://apt.sourcefabric.org/misc/liquidsoap_1.1.1/
    1a) install using "sudo gdebi <filename>.deb" 
    2) Download the Airtime 2.4 beta deb here http://apt.sourcefabric.org/misc/airtime_2.4.0~beta1a-1_all.deb
    2b) install using "sudo gdebi airtime_2.4.0~beta1a-1_all.deb"
    3) Start using Airtime

    Notes:
    Lucid (Ubuntu 10.04) users. We recommend you update your PHP version to 5.4 as the version included has many date/time bugs.

    Any problems installing or using the 2.4 beta, please post in this thread.

    Post edited by Martin Konecny at 2013-05-16 18:09:40
    Airtime Pro Hosting: http://airtime.pro
  • 41 Comments sorted by
  • Hi all.

    Great job.

    Some issues quickly observed.

    I created a repeating show - each day of the week, no end. For the first created shows they appeared in the calendar view. After some operations of delete, create this is what I see: in the month view - no show, week view - only the shows in the current week, daiy view - no show.
    Searching for shows in the Now playing page find the shows.

    Another issue also with repeating shows. For example I create a show named sh1 repeating each day of the week, no end, begin - end time 13:00 - 14:00, starting 17 may. Until 23 may - the show has it's start, end time and duration as expected. After a week, starting with 24 may, the start date is correct but the end time is one week ago and  the duration of the show is +167h even if it has no content added.

    Maybe you already know about this bugs since it's a beta release.

    Will test better the linked show feature which is a very nice feature (until 2.5 version with copy show content) and post again.

    Alex
  • Checking/unchecking the Link button multiple times while creating a show makes the little red warning box "Warning: Shows cannot be re-linked" appear multiple times, one instance below the previous one.

    Also, I get streaming blank even if the sent metadata is correct and the web interface shows the progress bar. Liquidsoap doesn't get restarted upon the change of the stream settings.


  • Vote Up0Vote Down Cliff WangCliff Wang
    Posts: 339Member, Sourcefabric Team
    Thank you! 
    Will review and open tickets for those problems.

    Cloud Radio -> http://airtime.pro
  • @Alexandru+Matei

    Another issue also with repeating shows. For example I create a show named
    sh1 repeating each day of the week, no end, begin - end time 13:00 - 14:00,
    starting 17 may. Until 23 may - the show has it's start, end time and
    duration as expected. After a week, starting with 24 may, the start date is
    correct but the end time is one week ago and the duration of the show is
    +167h even if it has no content added.

    I'm having trouble reproducing the scenario above. Where in Airtime were
    you seeing the incorrect end date/time and duration?


    I created a repeating show - each day of the week, no end. For the first
    created shows they appeared in the calendar view. After some operations of
    delete, create this is what I see: in the month view - no show, week view -
    only the shows in the current week, daiy view - no show.
    Searching for shows in the Now playing page find the shows.

    I don't quite understand what you did here. Did you delete all the
    repeating instances and then re-create it exactly the same after?

    Thanks for the bug reports. Much appreciated.



    On Fri, May 17, 2013 at 11:01 AM, Cliff Wang <<br />airtime-dev@lists.sourcefabric.org> wrote:

    > Thank you!
    > Will review and open tickets for those problems.
    >
    > CC-5157
    >
    >
  • Vote Up0Vote Down hoerichhoerich
    Posts: 627Member, Airtime Moderator

    • Show linking - when multiple shows are linked, content that is scheduled in one show is scheduled in the others as well
    • Monthly repeating shows can now be done by day of the month (every second Monday), instead of simply by numeric value



    this sounds promising! ty
    Official Airtime Forum Manager
    --------------------------
    Most of the time an issue is located between keyboard and chair.
  • @Denise+Rigato

    Sorry. I was testing on Ubuntu 10 without upgrading php to 5.4. After the update the issues with the repeating shows disappeared and they all show up in the calendar views.

    I also tested editing a repeating show after the first instance already began. Tried to make the modification while one instance of the show was broadcasting and got a message saying that you cannot modify the start date/time of a show that already started (even if I chose edit for an instance two days in the future and modified the start/end date which was auto-completed with today's date). After the show ended I was able to make the change. Good taking care of this issue with the exception mentioned above.

    Also, while a linked show is broadcasting I cannot add/remove content. Maybe this is a limitation. Anyway, great job with the linked shows.

    The issues with airtime streaming blank... I saw in airtime log lines
    2013/05/17 21:12:04 [decoder:3] Unable to decode "/var/tmp/airtime/pypo/cache/scheduler/371.mp3" as {audio=2;video=0;midi=0}!
    Playing the file in a small liquidsoap script was successful. Anyway, it's like songs aren't pushed. Only after I restart the playout engine I get this kind of messages.

    Alex
  • @Alexandru+Matei

    > Sorry. I was testing on Ubuntu 10 without upgrading php to 5.4. After the
    update the issues with the repeating shows disappeared > and they all show
    up in the calendar views.

    Ah, yes. We are aware of the repeating show issues with PHP 5.3.3
    We found a work around this morning but glad to hear you resolved this
    before we did by upgrading to 5.4

    > I also tested editing a repeating show after the first instance already
    began. Tried to make the modification while one instance of > the show was
    broadcasting and got a message saying that you cannot modify the start
    date/time of a show that already started > (even if I chose edit for an
    instance two days in the future and modified the start/end date which was
    auto-completed with today's > date). After the show ended I was able to
    make the change. Good taking care of this issue with the exception
    mentioned above.

    Good find! We'll have this fixed for the final release.

    > Also, while a linked show is broadcasting I cannot add/remove content.
    Maybe this is a limitation. Anyway, great job with the linked shows.

    This is by design. We may remove this limitation for 2.5

    We will look into the blank metadata as well.
  • Vote Up0Vote Down hoerichhoerich
    Posts: 627Member, Airtime Moderator
    first look at calendar gave a weird picture on my teststation running ubuntu 12.04 x86.

    the already broadcasted shows of the currently running out week are shown up three times per day. (pic 1)
    Picture 2& 3 show the next two weeks. Every show of any day is placed on friday.

    All of these shows are weekly or bi-weekly repeating shows.
    Although I don't run Ubuntu 10.04, I afterwards did an update of PHP like explained here => http://www.upubuntu.com/2012/03/how-to-upgrade-install-php-540-under.html with no changes at all.

    Since it's my testing station, I don't care much. But I hope not to have the same behaviour at the radio station...


    1574 x 655 - 69K
    1576 x 631 - 56K
    1210 x 609 - 48K
    Official Airtime Forum Manager
    --------------------------
    Most of the time an issue is located between keyboard and chair.
  • Hello
    I imported some assets that have the BPM values within the MP3 tags but within Airtime these show as "0".

    Also I tested the crossfade and they work but I'm confused as to the relationship of the following "Default Fade In" and "Default Fade Out" to "Default Crossfade Value".  At the same time how do I get the waveform to show and how do I manually set a fade out for individual assets?

    I had a lot of issues upgrading as Silan was not at the correct version and was not being upgraded.  
    Also the first install failed as it indicated PostgreSQL was not set to UTF-8 encoding even though it was.   I just re-ran the airtime install and it passed.
    Once the install was correct it would not connect to Icecast.  Had to completely remove airtime, liquidsoap and Icecast2 then re-install each.  I'm running Icecast 2.3.99.  Could not find a Debian deb for 2.4.  I suppose it's just 0.0.01 away so it should be the same.

    It now works fine with the exception of the first issues. 

    This is absolutely the best program I've seen.

    Thanks
  • Ran into this on Precise while trying to install http://apt.sourcefabric.org/misc/liquidsoap_1.1.1/liquidsoap_1.1.1~precise~sfo-1_amd64.deb

    This package is uninstallable
    Dependency is not satisfiable: libopus0
  • One other item I just noticed.  Replay Gain on newly ingested asset has a value set to "0".  Assets added in version 2.3.1 retains its value.
  • Crossfade problem
    -when crossfading into another track the first track goes dead at the in point when the second comes in then continues with the second track with cross fade happening.  This happens 90% of the time.
    --when crossfading into another track the first track repeats at some point, much grater than the cross fade duration, and the second comes in and continues with the cross fade happening.  When this occurs both tracks continue playing for the remaining length of the first.  This happens 15% of the time.
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Cliff WangCliff Wang
    Posts: 339Member, Sourcefabric Team

    Ran into this on Precise while trying to install http://apt.sourcefabric.org/misc/liquidsoap_1.1.1/liquidsoap_1.1.1~precise~sfo-1_amd64.deb

    This package is uninstallable
    Dependency is not satisfiable: libopus0



    Please add 
    to the /etc/apt/sources.list, update and install sourcefabirc-keyring
    Cloud Radio -> http://airtime.pro
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Cliff WangCliff Wang
    Posts: 339Member, Sourcefabric Team

    One other item I just noticed.  Replay Gain on newly ingested asset has a value set to "0".  Assets added in version 2.3.1 retains its value.



    Is the value still 0? Replaygain is to be updated in background every several minutes.
    Cloud Radio -> http://airtime.pro
  • When the asset is added to the database the value id null, no value. About 5 minutes later it changes to "0".


  • Vote Up0Vote Down Cliff WangCliff Wang
    Posts: 339Member, Sourcefabric Team

    When the asset is added to the database the value id null, no value. About 5 minutes later it changes to "0".





    Flac files? 
    BTW, /var/log/airtime/pypo/pypo.log can provide information if error happens on Replaygain caculating.
    Cloud Radio -> http://airtime.pro
  • The files are mp3.  Attached is the pypo.log.  Too lazy to look through it.
    83K
    Post edited by Reaz Baksh at 2013-05-23 11:08:22
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Cliff WangCliff Wang
    Posts: 339Member, Sourcefabric Team
     It says mp3gain is not found. Please try to install it by
    sudo apt-get install mp3gain
    And set those "0" to null for replaygain value in cc_files table from database to trig replaygain auto-regeneration. 
    Post edited by Cliff Wang at 2013-05-21 18:32:55
    Cloud Radio -> http://airtime.pro
  • mp3gain installed and any new addition shows the relay gain value.  Thanks for this.  Since its a sandbox I won't change the db values to null.  Is there anything I need to do or install to get the BPM values?
  • I wonder why mp3gain wasn't installed. You installed with the Debian
    package?

    M
    On May 21, 2013 6:53 PM, "Reaz Baksh"
    wrote:

    > mp3gain installed and any new addition shows the relay gain value. Thanks
    > for this. Since its a sandbox I won't change the db values to null. Is
    > there anything I need to do or install to get the BPM values?
    >
    >
    Airtime Pro Hosting: http://airtime.pro
  • Hi
    I installed the Debian package but it may have been uninstalled when I had some issues upgrading.  To get it working I uninstalled 2.3.1 and then installed the 2.4 deb package but I assume the 2.4 should have have asked for it.

  • Hi

    I installed the Debian package but it may have been uninstalled when I had some issues upgrading.  To get it working I uninstalled 2.3.1 and then installed the 2.4 deb package but I assume the 2.4 should have have asked for it.


    This will be fixed for the final.
    Airtime Pro Hosting: http://airtime.pro

  • Also, I get streaming blank even if the sent metadata is correct and the web interface shows the progress bar. Liquidsoap doesn't get restarted upon the change of the stream settings.





    Are you saying that metadata from input webstreams does not pass through to the Airtime output? Make sure you are using mp3 output (or have enabled output metadata with ogg)

    Airtime Pro Hosting: http://airtime.pro


  • The voaac encoder is pretty low quality as that thread mentions. We will bring support for the newest fdk-aac in the future (it is AAC and AAC+ btw). 2.4 also supports the aacplusenc - although I haven't seen any performance/quality benchmarks on that encoder.
    Airtime Pro Hosting: http://airtime.pro
  • hoerich said:

    first look at calendar gave a weird picture on my teststation running ubuntu 12.04 x86.

    the already broadcasted shows of the currently running out week are shown up three times per day. (pic 1)
    Picture 2& 3 show the next two weeks. Every show of any day is placed on friday.

    All of these shows are weekly or bi-weekly repeating shows.
    Although I don't run Ubuntu 10.04, I afterwards did an update of PHP like explained here => http://www.upubuntu.com/2012/03/how-to-upgrade-install-php-540-under.html with no changes at all.

    Since it's my testing station, I don't care much. But I hope not to have the same behaviour at the radio station...




    Thanks Hoerich, we are looking into this.
    Airtime Pro Hosting: http://airtime.pro

  • Regarding the calendar issue you found, we cannot reproduce this. We tried upgrading from 2.3.1  to 2.4 on debian and precise. Everything looked good. What kind of environment do you have?
  • Is Raring fully supported?
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Cliff WangCliff Wang
    Posts: 339Member, Sourcefabric Team
    These days I'm testing beta on Raring and it works fine. Maybe you can give it a try?

    Is Raring fully supported?




    Cloud Radio -> http://airtime.pro
  • Just about to :) How's about Debian 7?
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Cliff WangCliff Wang
    Posts: 339Member, Sourcefabric Team
    Wheezy is already supported.
    Cloud Radio -> http://airtime.pro
  • Holy overlapping music, Batman! What a fun bug :)

    Seriously though, amazing work everyone. This final is going to be a monumental release, let there be no doubt. Opus is incredible and will only get better over time. Now all we need is a decent iOS player... :-\"
  • I don't see anyone reporting this so maybe it is only with me.  At the point of a cross fade the current song would mute for a second or so at the start of the second song.  
    Post edited by Reaz Baksh at 2013-05-25 09:02:03
  • Found a bug and can't find a solution to fix it :/

    Undefined variable: fileUrl
    #0 [internal function]: exception_error_handler(8, 'Undefined varia...', '/usr/share/airt...', 101, Array)
    #1 /usr/share/php/Zend/Log.php(598): call_user_func('exception_error...', 8, 'Undefined varia...', '/usr/share/airt...', 101, Array)
    #2 /usr/share/airtime/application/views/scripts/playlist/update.phtml(101): Zend_Log->errorHandler(8, 'Undefined varia...', '/usr/share/airt...', 101, Array)
    #3 /usr/share/php/Zend/View.php(108): include('/usr/share/airt...')
    #4 /usr/share/php/Zend/View/Abstract.php(888): Zend_View->_run('/usr/share/airt...')
    #5 /usr/share/airtime/application/views/scripts/playlist/playlist.phtml(80): Zend_View_Abstract->render('playlist/update...')
    #6 /usr/share/php/Zend/View.php(108): include('/usr/share/airt...')
    #7 /usr/share/php/Zend/View/Abstract.php(888): Zend_View->_run('/usr/share/airt...')
    #8 /usr/share/airtime/application/views/scripts/library/index.phtml(16): Zend_View_Abstract->render('playlist/playli...')
    #9 /usr/share/php/Zend/View.php(108): include('/usr/share/airt...')
    #10 /usr/share/php/Zend/View/Abstract.php(888): Zend_View->_run('/usr/share/airt...')
    #11 /usr/share/php/Zend/Controller/Action/Helper/ViewRenderer.php(900): Zend_View_Abstract->render('library/index.p...')
    #12 /usr/share/php/Zend/Controller/Action/Helper/ViewRenderer.php(921): Zend_Controller_Action_Helper_ViewRenderer->renderScript('library/index.p...', NULL)
    #13 /usr/share/php/Zend/Controller/Action/Helper/ViewRenderer.php(960): Zend_Controller_Action_Helper_ViewRenderer->render()
    #14 /usr/share/php/Zend/Controller/Action/HelperBroker.php(277): Zend_Controller_Action_Helper_ViewRenderer->postDispatch()
    #15 /usr/share/php/Zend/Controller/Action.php(527): Zend_Controller_Action_HelperBroker->notifyPostDispatch()
    #16 /usr/share/php/Zend/Controller/Dispatcher/Standard.php(295): Zend_Controller_Action->dispatch('indexAction')
    #17 /usr/share/php/Zend/Controller/Front.php(954): Zend_Controller_Dispatcher_Standard->dispatch(Object(Zend_Controller_Request_Http), Object(Zend_Controller_Response_Http))
    #18 /usr/share/php/Zend/Application/Bootstrap/Bootstrap.php(97): Zend_Controller_Front->dispatch()
    #19 /usr/share/php/Zend/Application.php(366): Zend_Application_Bootstrap_Bootstrap->run()
    #20 /usr/share/airtime/public/index.php(64): Zend_Application->run()
    #21 {main}
  • Vote Up0Vote Down hoerichhoerich
    Posts: 627Member, Airtime Moderator


    Regarding the calendar issue you found, we cannot reproduce this. We tried upgrading from 2.3.1  to 2.4 on debian and precise. Everything looked good. What kind of environment do you have?
    Ubuntu 12.04 x86 Airtime Automated Installation
    Maybe it has to do with the different ways to install.
    I'll do a backup and setup v2.4b from scratch again on my testmachine.
    Official Airtime Forum Manager
    --------------------------
    Most of the time an issue is located between keyboard and chair.
  • Vote Up0Vote Down hoerichhoerich
    Posts: 627Member, Airtime Moderator

    Found a bug and can't find a solution to fix it :/


    Undefined variable: fileUrl
    #0 [internal function]: exception_error_handler(8, 'Undefined varia...', '/usr/share/airt...', 101, Array)
    #1 /usr/share/php/Zend/Log.php(598): call_user_func('exception_error...', 8, 'Undefined varia...', '/usr/share/airt...', 101, Array)
    #2 /usr/share/airtime/application/views/scripts/playlist/update.phtml(101): Zend_Log->errorHandler(8, 'Undefined varia...', '/usr/share/airt...', 101, Array)
    #3 /usr/share/php/Zend/View.php(108): include('/usr/share/airt...')
    #4 /usr/share/php/Zend/View/Abstract.php(888): Zend_View->_run('/usr/share/airt...')
    #5 /usr/share/airtime/application/views/scripts/playlist/playlist.phtml(80): Zend_View_Abstract->render('playlist/update...')
    #6 /usr/share/php/Zend/View.php(108): include('/usr/share/airt...')
    #7 /usr/share/php/Zend/View/Abstract.php(888): Zend_View->_run('/usr/share/airt...')
    #8 /usr/share/airtime/application/views/scripts/library/index.phtml(16): Zend_View_Abstract->render('playlist/playli...')
    #9 /usr/share/php/Zend/View.php(108): include('/usr/share/airt...')
    #10 /usr/share/php/Zend/View/Abstract.php(888): Zend_View->_run('/usr/share/airt...')
    #11 /usr/share/php/Zend/Controller/Action/Helper/ViewRenderer.php(900): Zend_View_Abstract->render('library/index.p...')
    #12 /usr/share/php/Zend/Controller/Action/Helper/ViewRenderer.php(921): Zend_Controller_Action_Helper_ViewRenderer->renderScript('library/index.p...', NULL)
    #13 /usr/share/php/Zend/Controller/Action/Helper/ViewRenderer.php(960): Zend_Controller_Action_Helper_ViewRenderer->render()
    #14 /usr/share/php/Zend/Controller/Action/HelperBroker.php(277): Zend_Controller_Action_Helper_ViewRenderer->postDispatch()
    #15 /usr/share/php/Zend/Controller/Action.php(527): Zend_Controller_Action_HelperBroker->notifyPostDispatch()
    #16 /usr/share/php/Zend/Controller/Dispatcher/Standard.php(295): Zend_Controller_Action->dispatch('indexAction')
    #17 /usr/share/php/Zend/Controller/Front.php(954): Zend_Controller_Dispatcher_Standard->dispatch(Object(Zend_Controller_Request_Http), Object(Zend_Controller_Response_Http))
    #18 /usr/share/php/Zend/Application/Bootstrap/Bootstrap.php(97): Zend_Controller_Front->dispatch()
    #19 /usr/share/php/Zend/Application.php(366): Zend_Application_Bootstrap_Bootstrap->run()
    #20 /usr/share/airtime/public/index.php(64): Zend_Application->run()
    #21 {main}


    Is it possible that your Harddisk is full?

    I encountered a similar message when Ubuntu again filled the ./.xsession-errors.old with stupid log-files up to a size of 890GB.
    Just create a cronjob for hourly deleting this file and everything is fine.

    The same could happen, if you use the Ubuntu-builtin-VNC-Function.
    If my connection is closed unexpectedly, the service is active furthermore and fills on the hard disk with temp-files or something you cannot find via commandline. Restart Ubuntu - ok.

    hope your problem is easy to solve...
    Official Airtime Forum Manager
    --------------------------
    Most of the time an issue is located between keyboard and chair.
  • Vote Up0Vote Down BassemBassem
    Posts: 9Member
    Hello,

    I tried 2.4beta1 on fresh debian7.0 installation, but I'm getting blank screen in "CALENDAR" section in Airtime web interface.

    image

    I'm not sure if this things related to 2.4beta1, so kindly can anyone tell me which logs to check exactly!

    Best Regards
  • Vote Up0Vote Down BassemBassem
    Posts: 9Member
    After checking zendphp.log I found this:

    [ScheduleController.php : eventFeedPreloadAction() : line 136] - month
    [Preference.php : setValue() : line 100] - Database error: Invalid number of results returned. Should be 0 or 1, but is '2' instead


    Anyway, after searching in the forum, I found this: http://forum.sourcefabric.org/discussion/15107/postmaster-locking-up-/p1 , by appling this update to the database:

    THANK YOU THANK YOU.

    update cc_pref set valstr = '2015-01-01 00:00:00' where keystr = 'shows_populated_until';


    Issue solved.


    Issue really solved :)
  • Got this when attempting to upgrade LS1.0.1 to LS1.1.1 from the .deb:

    Breaks existing package 'liquidsoap-plugin-faad' dependency liquidsoap (= 1.0.1+repack1-1.1)
  • > Roger

    Try removing liquidsoap first:

    sudo apt-get remove liquidsoap

    Then install the new liquidsoap version as per the instructions here.

    Worked for me. (although I built from source)
  • Hey guys, I'm closing this thread to limit confusion. If you found a bug in beta1, please try installing beta2 and if it still exists, comment in that thread.

    Airtime Pro Hosting: http://airtime.pro
This discussion has been closed.
All Discussions