Watched folder updates but mysteriously does silly things.....
  • Hi guys – sorry but as a complete novice I'm picking your brains again…

With the help of one or two very nice people in another thread and my own developer I managed to set up a new folder on the server and set this up to be a watched folder. The theory being that whenever a file is uploaded to this watched folder it imports into the library etc.

Now I've got it working but with a problem…

So, I'm working with a news file and we are calling it simply news.MP3. I am up loading it with an FTP client to the watched folder in the FTP client is asking me if I wish to replace the existing file on the folder to which I am selecting yes. The file upload successfully and when you go into the library immediately after it says that it is importing a new file.

If I then search the library for news.mp3 it finds the file and when I preview file it plays the most recent updated version – everything is perfect you would think… But not so LOL

Because this is a news file is scheduled to go out at the top of the hour so today I set up some test shows and built the content to start with news.MP3 and then other content afterwards. The first one played and was perfect. I then followed the procedure above and uploaded a different file to the watched folder to replace the existing news file. This replaced successfully and deleted the old file I thought from the server. When the next scheduled news play it still played the old file despite the fact that when I searched the library there was only one copy of the file and this was the most up-to-date one which I previewed.