Booktype user/group administration
  • Hello I am new to booktype.

I have been looking at the documentation and I cannot find anything about user administration.
    Is there a way to restrict users. For example prevent users of a group from creating books, only let them edit.
    Allow a select few in the group to create books and not others i.e separate editors and managers.

Outside of a group, is a way to limit users who sign up to either have editing permissions only while others have creating deleting and editing permissions.

A project I am hoping to start requires separation of such concerns and I could not find documentation regarding administration.

Thank you.
  • 10 Comments sorted by
  • Hi Namith,

we started as an open platform with only few restrictions. We had things like "you can only edit book if you have role X" and anybody could create an account. But we started to be used in more closed environments lately so we started to implement some of the features like "only admin can create accounts" and etc. But i guess things what you mentioned would also be good to implement... "only some of the users" can create books and etc. If there is some more requirement what you have and it is secret you can send me private message :) But yes... these are some very good ideas and i will put them in future plans for sure.

Aco
  • Actually I have no secret requirements. I was thinking about setting up a project for open source school books.

The problem is, in such a situation, it is not everybody who has the expertise to contribute, there should be a select few who should be tasked with the final decision. Even among the experts there are disagreements. 

So I was hoping to have a way of defining a project head, a select few who have privileged whose expertise and identity can be confirmed, then everybody else. this provides the fine grained control necessary [my opinion] to produce a good quality, credible text book.