Airtime Setup Query
  • Dear Sourcefabric users

I am the newly appointed manager of RED Radio at the University of Essex.

Unfortunately, I took over what can only really be described as a sinking ship. My technical knowledge isn't that advanced and I was left with no training or documentation as to how our setup actually works.

My members are looking to me to introduce some new functions to our system, and I was wondering if you could help me determine if they were possible with airtime.

I have limited knowledge of our current setup, but I will tell you what I know.

We operate through an Alice board, with two connected computers.

One computer has uses an old version of Myriad, along with an automation program called DiAttoire (or something similar)

The second computer uses SimpleCast to broadcast over the web. However I intend to make the switch to Icecast

We have a number of inputs including 3 microphones, a phoneline, mp3 jack, CD player and a turntable/mixer setup.

The features I am looking to add are as follows:

1) The ability to easily record and upload shows to the shoutcast system, or into mp3 format. I read that you can record to souncloud using your software, that would be great.

2) The ability for users to broadcast remotely on some basic pc software, something I believe your software does.

3) The ability to record and create our own jingles

4) The ability to measure how many people are tuned in

I realise this is a fairly large and complicated list, but if airtime can accomodate these needs I would be over the moon.

Whilst our current setup works, it is fairly unreliable on the broadcast front, and lacks the features that a modern radio station should have.

My main question will airtime it be compatable with our current hardware setup, especially the Alice board?

Many thanks for your time in advance,

Marshall
  • 1 Comment sorted by

• Hi Chris,