Power Users know the Calendar/Scheduler has issues. Want to help fix it?
  • It is a fact. I am not even going to list the whole long list here.

Have you been told to wipe the show database and start again? And the crap came back?

But: Show Content goes missing, shows terminate unexpectedly, Shows show different data in week view than month view....... AND different again in 'Now Playing' view (which is always correct) CLUE. Look at the seconds.

This is Open Source. We can bitch about or fix it. How about we fork and/or fix it or replace it?

I am a hard-core coder. If we had a few more we could fix it in a couple of weeks, I reckon, or a lot less.

Any Python/PHP/POSTGRES coders with an IQ in double figues? Want to help fix this?

Don't do Postgres but do do MySQL? Close enough.

Cant code? Great! Got Calendar issues? You can help - we need testers.

Who is up for this? Please form an orderly queue. Thank you.
    Post edited by John Chewter at 2014-05-29 22:22:58
    No longer using Airtime or Libretime.
  • 16 Comments sorted by
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Alex LAlex L
    I am not skilled at coding (though I once hacked a bit of C to make caller ID appear correct on an open source phone system due to knowing what the UK analogue signalling way); I can gather evidence/logs etc if shown what to look for.

fork of the whole lot seems drastic (presumably would use liquidsoap anyway for the actual playout) but perhaps a slimmed down user interface/db which is aimed at those normally running a mixture of pre-recorded shows with the occasional live remote, which can handle working with local time zone (the telephone exchange software I use does) with these main enhancements:

• definitely fades a show on the hour
    • can play jingles/ads at exact times overriding all other content if selected
    • generates report log on everything that played and also what went wrong (if anything) that is easy to find