Airtime Eh (Canadian Version) High Level Overview
  • Hello Developer Community,

I'm a project manager from a local community radio station, We implementing a set of features in Airtime to enable better logging for CRTC regulations.

I'm open to feedback on implementation details.

Cheers,
    Dominique Legault
    Project Manager
    CKGI.ca
  • 7 Comments sorted by
  • Vote Up0Vote Down Daniel JamesDaniel James
    Hi Dominique, thanks for sharing that document. There is no really clean way to unmix compiled tracks automatically, so if you want split tracks you will either have to leave some silence between tracks or have the DJ build the show in Airtime from individual files. I would suggest the latter, because it's less complicated and makes your library more re-usable.

An alternative would be to keep the mixed show file whole (as this is a good format for listen-on-demand downloads via a podcast app), avoid any bad cuts, and simply annotate the track start positions within the file. For example Mixcloud has an API for uploading a whole show file and specifying the tracklist at the same time: http://blog.mixcloud.com/2014/08/22/two-new-apis-launched-today/

As for music fingerprinting for tracks played from CD (or vinyl), you could look at the open source project http://echoprint.me/ as a starting point. If you are playing really obscure or unreleased music, you might like to contribute some fingerprints back.

Cheers!

Daniel
  • Hello Daniel,

Thank you for your feedback, Our approach to splitting tracks is to split the tracks in the media library by creating a playlist of tracks that all point to the same compilation audio file with different cue points for start and end time of the track. We will test the playback for fade in and fade out silence. 

I am aware of the echoprint solution we are exploring that option.

Cheers,
    Dominique Legault
    Hi Dominique,