mangodb and docker question
  • hello

i would like to know, if you can tell me, how to connect to the mangodb directly from console? or can you tell me, how to export data to newsml format?

is there any guide to install superdesk whitout docker? i know you write "For manual installation just follow the steps described in the Dockerfile." do you have any help for this? sorry it my first time i use docker. need something like docker to debian bash translator 

thanks
  • 1 Comment sorted by
  • DISCLAIMER: I have NO experience with superdesk, and very little with mongodb so I will ignore the first two questions. For the third question:

is there any guide to install superdesk whitout docker?

Dockerfiles are actually very simple to interpret and you should have no problem if you have any prior experience as a sysadmin. Part by part explanation below:

"FROM ubuntu:trusty"

This tells docker that you want to base the new image that the dockerfile contains instructions to create off the ubuntu trusty image. We can safely ignore that assuming you are currently installing on Ubuntu trusty.

We then have a line that looks like (and continues onto multiple lines):

RUN apt-get update && \

All the "RUN" command does is to tell docker to run some commands in the terminal of the docker container. This roughly translates to the following commands run:

• apt-get update
    • sudo apt-get install -y python3 python3-dev python3-pip python3-lxml build-essential libffi-dev git libtiff5-dev libjpeg8-dev zlib1g-dev libfreetype6-dev liblcms2-dev libwebp-dev curl libfontconfig nodejs npm nginx
    • echo "\ndaemon off;" >> /etc/nginx/nginx.conf
    • rm /etc/nginx/sites-enabled/default
    • ln --symbolic /usr/bin/nodejs /usr/bin/node
    • npm -g install grunt-cli bower
    • locale-gen en_US.UTF-8