How to combine automatic shuffled tracks with automated live streams
  •  Hi,

After months of delay, fiddling getting enraged, taking a break, fiddling, changing server, trying new settings, forgetting, getting enraged, please can someone tell me if this is even possible:

Im a competent linux sysadmin and skilled web developer, work a lot with Apache, configs etc.

I have an Ubuntu server in my office (this has over 100mbit/s connection) which holds all of the Library MP3s and runs Airtime, this is accessible via the internet, DJs connect directly to Airtime in my office with Butt. The outward stream then goes to a VPS with unlimited bandwidth which relays the stream out to iPhone / web apps.

I have simplified the examples below for ease of understanding.

OVERALL OBJECTIVE:

24-7 music streaming house and drum and bass mixes (30min in length), 

DJs and venues have scheduled recurring live shows for an hour a week and connect from around the country.

venues need hardware running 24-7 which starts streaming automatically at their specified show time because none of their staff can do it

Djs might not be available to stream their live shows. music should continue playing regardless. 

When Djs and venues connect it overrides the scheduled play.

when there is not scheduled play then play random music of a particular genre from the library depending on the time. 

DJs can upload their prerecorded mixes and schedule that for their shows if they will not be available to do it live, or can upload to the library to be slotted in when there is no live stream active.

GOAL / Specific problem 1) 

Play ANYTHING randomly if there is no scheduled play, live show source, or Master source. Anything other than silence.

- This doesnt seem to be possible, even after editing liquidsoap config files, or whatever hack it was i found on a forum and tried

GOAL / specific problem 2)