Problem when installing Booktype/booki database
  • Hello everyone -

I am in the process of installing booki (on Ubuntu 11.10) and I ran into a problem when attempting to synchronize the database. I am following the instructions from the Managing a Floss Manuals website manual.

Software versions
    Django 1.3
    Postgresql 9.1
    Python 2.7

I ran "django-admin.py syncdb" as the fm user. The resulting traceback message is shown below. It looks like postgresql is expecting a password but I didn't create a password when I created the database. I would appreciate any advice with how to proceed with figuring out this issue - I am new to both Django and Postgresql. Thanks in advance for the help.

$ django-admin.py syncdb
    Syncing...
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/local/bin/django-admin.py", line 5, in
    management.execute_from_command_line()
    File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/django/core/management/__init__.py", line 429, in execute_from_command_line
    utility.execute()
    File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/django/core/management/__init__.py", line 379, in execute
    self.fetch_command(subcommand).run_from_argv(self.argv)
    File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/django/core/management/base.py", line 191, in run_from_argv
    self.execute(*args, **options.__dict__)
    File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/django/core/management/base.py", line 220, in execute
    output = self.handle(*args, **options)
    File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/django/core/management/base.py", line 351, in handle
    return self.handle_noargs(**options)
    File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/South-0.7.5-py2.7.egg/south/management/commands/syncdb.py", line 90, in handle_noargs
    syncdb.Command().execute(**options)
    File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/django/core/management/base.py", line 220, in execute
    output = self.handle(*args, **options)